• Contact us
  • UK +44 (0)1782 764428
  • US 919-504-4900

You are here: Home » Technology Partnerships » Training

Training Courses

Would you like to enhance your ceramics whitewares or refractories skills and knowledge?

Lucideon's training courses have been developed by our in-house experts, all of whom have years of industry and practical experience.

We have over 20 standard modules to choose from, covering a wide range of ceramics and refractories subjects.

And, if you need training customised to your business and people, we can build a training course to meet your objectives.

If you didn't know, Lucideon started out as the British Ceramic Research Association over 70 years ago – so we know a thing or two about ceramics!

Don't just take our word for it though. Bernhard Kerschbaum, the Chief Executive Officer of Rosler Metal Finishing USA, LLC says: "I highly recommend utilizing Lucideon's standard or customized training programs. The Lucideon team has done an outstanding job in delivering exactly what we needed." Read his full quote here.

We deliver the course in three ways:

1) Remotely – by live webinar. Find out more here.

2) At our UK headquarters in Stoke-on-Trent.

3) At your site.

Places are limited to 12 people per module.

Please contact Caroline Mullington, Training Manager, caroline.mullington@lucideon.com to discuss your needs.

 

Keeping People Safe During the COVID-19 Pandemic

We're committed to keeping people safe during the ongoing pandemic. If you book in person training, we will follow the relevant government guidelines and our own guidelines to make sure we can run the session safely.

If a session has to be cancelled due to government restrictions or guidance, we'll transfer the session to a later date. We will not be liable for any costs incurred by you or course attendees due to the cancellation.

 

2022 Training Schedule

Subject Area Date Module Module Name
Ceramic Whitewares Wednesday 26 January L1 Understanding Ceramics
Wednesday 2 February L2 Materials Selection
Wednesday 11 May L8 Glaze and Glaze Applications
Wednesday 8 June L9 Testing of Ceramic Materials and Products
Wednesday 22 June L10 Introduction to Ceramic Tableware & Giftware for the Retail Sector
Wednesday 6 July L11 Tableware Manufacture
Wednesday 13 July L12 Pressure Casting
Wednesday 10 August L13 Tile Manufacture
Wednesday 24 August L14 Introduction to Sanitaryware
Tuesday 6 September L3 The Basics of Slip Casting
Wednesday 5 October L16 Introduction to Grinding and Milling
Tuesday 18 October L4 Drying
Wednesday 2 November L5 Kiln Firing
Wednesday 9 November L18 Introduction to Everyday Ceramic Calculations
Wednesday 23 November L19 Spray Drying
Wednesday 7 December L20 Rheology - Fluid Properties Control in Ceramics
Refractories Tuesday 26 April R1 Refractory Fundamentals - Composition and Usage
Wednesday 27 April R2 Understanding Refractory Properties & Links to Performance
Thursday 28 April R3 Troubleshooting
Tuesday 24 May R4 Refractory Design 101
Wednesday 25 May
R5 QC & Best Practices During Refractory Installation
Wednesday 12 October & Thursday 13 October R6 Refractories for the Glass Industry (2 day course)

Ceramic training modules for plaster moulds (L6), forming (L7) and decoration (L17) are available on request.